Finance Officer

photo by Didier Weemaels

Name: Suzie

Job Title: Humble worker bee

What exactly is that?

working in accounts payable and receivable

How did you get there?

I was asked to fill in for a lady who was away overseas for a month. I’d never done it before and had very little training by people who also didn’t know what they were doing. After that I started applying for similar jobs in the government and ended up working for various other government agencies. I’ve now been in the job for 10 years just because someone gave me a go!

Describe a typical day in your life for us

Wake up around 6.30am, shower and dress for work (makeup sometimes if you’re lucky!) leave home around 7.15am. Drive to my friends house where I park the car, usually getting there at 7.45am. I either catch the bus or walk to my building depending on weather, time and if I have multiple bags to carry. Do some work until around 9am when i usually have cereal for breakfast.

Then I do some more work until around 12.30 where I have lunch with a good friend for half an hour to an hour. sometimes I spend the 2nd half of my lunch break downstairs in a first aid room where I do stretching and physio exercises.

I go back to work around 1.30 and around 3pm go for a walk up to the 6th floor with a colleague to ensure we are getting some exercise during the day.

Work until 5pm where I either catch the bus or walk back to my car. 2 or 3 days after work I pick up my gym bag from the car and walk around the corner to the gym where I spend 1 – 1.5hrs.

I drive home which takes 30 minutes then cook dinner, watch tv and go to sleep around 10pm.

What’s the best thing about what you do?

The people I work with for sure, its not always about the job.

What’s the one thing you would change if you could?

I would have a rotating system so you could move around different jobs to learn new skills and not get bored.

What did you want to do for a living when you were at school?

I didn’t have any clue!

Tell us about something you were insecure about when you were at school

I didn’t like public speaking. I never did anything about it but it’s something I have always avoided, which doesn’t bother me as my job doesn’t require me to do it. I have found being centre of attention has become easier with becoming older.

What advice would you give yourself at 18 if you could?

Get into sports or gym anything that lifts confidence.

What’s your favourite thing to do in your spare time?

Playing with my sisters poodle.

What’s the title of the last book you read?

Kerry Greenwood – Forbidden Fruit

Please share with us one beauty tip you have learned

Use sunscreen everyday

 Share with us a money tip

Save up to buy things, don’t use credit cards if you can help it

Please share a life lesson you have learned

Life’s too short, dont waste time on something that’s not going to get you anywhere.

Tell us about your favourite recent purchase for £25 or less

Two Icebreaker merino beanies

How can people get in touch for more details?

You can email me

Leave a Reply