Project Manager

Name: Sally

Job Title: Change Manager

What exactly is that?

Overseeing projects in an investment bank, from inception to review post completion. This means creation of a business case, project plan, chairing working groups, tracking progress, reporting status of the project to it’s stakeholders and communication to those affected by any change.

How did you get there?

After obtaining a Degree in Economics, I joined a job agency specialising in jobs in the financial industry, through this got me a job in HSBC as a trade management clerk at an investment bank. I moved into other areas laterally to gain experience over 3 years and was then offered to be involved in a flagship project. During this time I worked on a project alongside my existing role and was able to gain experience of working in a projects role. After this developed my job into a projects role before moving internally to become a senior official Change Manager. Took a job opportunity in New York through the global mobility channels existing at my current employer.

Describe a typical day in your life

My alarm goes off at 6.30, I don’t need to leave until 8 but I’m 6 months pregnant at the moment so right now it takes me ages to do anything. I don’t usually have breakfast at home. I leave at 8 and walk to the bus stop near our apartment and get the 20 min bus ride through the Lincoln tunnel to the port authority bus terminal in Manhattan. I’ll always walk the 15mins to the office in Bryant Park as I love to walk through the city, there is always something happening and I still like to look up and feel excited that I’m in this city! Depending on how I’m feeling ill either go though times square dodging the street characters or through Bryant Park and look up at the empire state building. The morning walk is probably one of my favourite things. I’ll have breakfast at work, then start work at about 9. As London and Hong Kong are ahead of New York I’ll normally start the day with conference calls with people in London or Asia. This is normally about global project status or where there is an issue with a technology or migration project that needs to be resolved. Lunch is normally at 12, ill either bring something from home or walk with one of my team mates to get something. Normally leave at 5.30 and either meet my husband for drinks/ food in the city or in my home town of Hoboken. We try to make the most of the city life while we can by eating out a few times a week.

What’s the best thing about what you do?

There is a lot of autonomy in what I do, I love that I can manage my own time and take the approach I think is best. I get to talk with people all all around the the world, from Mexico, Canada and Malaysia to Paris and London and I enjoy seeing how different cultures work, even though this can also be one of the more frustrating things too.

What’s the one thing you would change if you could?

I work in a bank, banking is not the most innovative of industrys due to regulation and budget pressures. Often I think know I’d like to work somewhere more at the forefront of technology such such as a tech company.

What did you want to do for a living when you were at school?

Many different things, I never really knew exactly. I think when I was at school I never had the confidence in myself to believe I could work in a this type of job.

Tell us about something you were insecure about when you were at school

I didn’t have the confidence to ask if I didn’t understand, even at university I did not and I think I could have done much better academically if I had asked more questions. As I’ve got older I’ve gained so much more confidence just from ALWAYS asking if I don’t get something.

What advice would you have given yourself at 18 if you could?

Don’t worry about not being clever enough, if you don’t understand probably other people don’t either. And don’t worry if you get it wrong, it really doesn’t matter.

What’s your favourite thing to do in your spare time?

Eat good food in a beautiful or interesting setting.

What’s the title of the most recent book you read?

I am Malala

Please can you share a beauty tip with us?

Smile and Wear black, it always looks good!

Can you please share a money tip?

This is a tough one! I think it’s important to enjoy the money you have. Spend money on experiences you’ll remember when you’re old not disposable possessions

Please share a life lesson you have learned

Believe in yourself, most people don’t have a clue either. Even super successful people are blagging it!

Tell us about your favourite recent purchase of £25 or under

A black maternity jersey dress from gap, it was only Usd8 reduced! I love it as it’s chic and shows off my bump which I’m proud of. I’m growing a human people!!

How can people find you online for more details?

You can find me on Facebook 


Leave a Reply