Stay at home Mum/Housewife

Girl Did Good - Life After Lessons

Name: Alison

Job Title: Mother

What exactly is that?

I take care of my two children and the household full time

How did you get there?

Well, this is a job where no qualifications are necessary. No school, college or university (and I studied at all three) can prepare you for becoming a parent. The hours are long, the pay is at best lousy and worst non-exsistent. However, it is the most rewarding and amazing thing I have done. I consider myself privileged to be able to stay at home and look after my children full time.

Describe a typical day for you

My day usually starts around 7am, or when my youngest decides its morning. Mornings tend to be a bit rushed as I prepare breakfast for the kids (boys aged 4 &7), organise packed lunch, double check my sons school bags are ready and help them get dressed. In between organising the children I will usually make myself a fresh juice drink and a coffee to drink (the coffee is usually found cold and untouched some time later!!) and get myself showered and dressed.

We leave for school at 8:30am, we walk my eldest to school first and then to the pre school for my youngest. Ordinarily, I head straight home from pre school and do some housework, making beds, get washing in machine, start to prepare the evening meal and anything else that needs doing. My mornings are also my ‘me time’ and I will often go out for a run, go to pilates, meet a friend for coffee or go for a walk. I also volunteer at my sons primary school for school trips and am a member of the home school association so, help with fundraising, school fairs, discos, etc. I collect my youngest from pre school at midday and pop home for lunch.

Our afternoons are varied, on a Monday and Thursday I attend a consumer study panel where I test deodorants so, my son goes into the creche at the study centre. The other afternoons we spend having fun and each day is different, we visit the park, local farm, swimming or have play dates with friends. At 3:30 we go to collect my eldest son from school. When we arrive home from school we complete any homework and go to any after school activites (Tennis and Drama Club) or, the boys will play whilst I cook dinner.

After the children have dinner we usually relax a bit, watch TV, play a board game or read until its time to start their bedtime routine. The boys are usually both in bed by 7:30. On a Tues and Thurs eve I attend a local running club where I either run or volunteer to take the beginners group for a power walk. On these evenings I will have a lite bite to eat when the children eat around 5pm, the rest of the week I eat dinner with my husband around 8pm (he doesn’t get home much before 7pm) The rest of the eveing is usually spent catching up with my husband, a spot of TV or anything I’ve not had chance to do during the day. I usually head for bed around 11pm.

What’s the best thing about what you do?

Being able to share everyday with my favourite people.

What’s the one thing you would change if you could?

Honestly, nothing.

What did you want to do for a living when you were at school?

I don’t recall ever having a desire or ambition to do any one thing. I never knew what I wanted to do when I grew up (and still don’t!)

Tell us about something you were insecure about when you were at school

I wasn’t very confident at school as was always worrying what others thought of me (this still affects me know as an adult to a degree). I loved drama as it gave me the opportunity to take on different personalities and to become someone completely different even if just for a short time.

What advice would you have given yourself at 18 if you could?

Just be yourself.

What’s your favourite thing to do in your spare time?

Running, I love it.

What’s the title of the last book you read?

Three and a Half Heartbeats by Amanda Prowse

Please can you share a beauty tip you have learned?


Share with us a money tip you have learned

If you haven’t got the money to pay for it up front, don’t buy it.

Please share a life lesson you have learned

You can tell who the strong women are. They are the ones you see building each other up instead of tearing each other down.

Tell us about your favourite recent purchase for £25 or under

My next race entry, I will be taking part in the Run for the 96, its a 5K run to remember the people who lost their lives in the Hillsborough Disaster and to raise money for local charities. Its a special event as my father was at the football match in 1989 and I count my blessings everyday that he returned safely to us. The race entry cost just £22 and is completely priceless to me as I will be running with my Dad at my side.


Leave a Reply